Skip to content

20 September 2026 · Updated 28 October 2026 · 12 min read

8 Best Changelog Tools for SaaS in 2026

Beamer, AnnounceKit, Headway, LaunchNotes, Canny, Featurebase, Frill and Looph compared: pricing, free plans, strengths and trade-offs, with sources.

The best changelog tool for a SaaS team depends on what the changelog is for. If the goal is to get announcements seen inside the product, look at Beamer or AnnounceKit. If you want a free public changelog page up this afternoon, Headway. If release communication is a formal process across teams, LaunchNotes. If you want each release to reach the customers who asked for it, pick a feedback tool with a built-in changelog: Canny, Featurebase, Frill or Looph. We make Looph, so it is listed last and marked as ours. Every third-party price and feature below was read on that vendor's own pages on 28 October 2026, or on the later date its section states, and each section cites its source.

What a changelog tool does

A changelog tool publishes product updates where customers will see them and keeps a linkable record of what shipped. At minimum that is a hosted changelog page; most tools add an in-app widget, and many add email notifications, labels, scheduling and audience segmentation.

The tools in this list split into two groups. Announcement tools (Beamer, AnnounceKit, Headway, LaunchNotes) are built around getting updates read, and they compete on widgets, channels and targeting. Feedback tools with a changelog (Canny, Featurebase, Frill, Looph) are built around collecting requests, and their changelog is the step where a request is marked as shipped. The first group is usually stronger at reach; the second knows who asked for each change.

Changelog tools compared

Starting price is the cheapest paid plan, with the billing basis the vendor states. Where a vendor's page does not state one, the cell says so. Looph is in the last row and is ours.

Changelog tools for SaaS: starting price, free plan and best fit
ToolStarting priceFree planBest forSource
Beamer$49/mo billed annually ($59 monthly), Starter, 5,000 MAUsYes: 1,000 MAUs, 1 teammate, with a Beamer watermarkProduct and marketing teams who want pop-ups, push and in-app feedsBeamer pricing
AnnounceKit$49/mo billed annually ($59 monthly), ChangelogNo; 15-day free trial of everythingTeams that want to pay for only the pieces they useAnnounceKit pricing
Headway$29/month, Pro (the page does not state annual billing)Yes: unlimited changelogs, public page, widget, custom categoriesSmall teams that want a free changelog page and widget todayHeadway homepage (pricing section)
LaunchNotes$833/mo billed annually ($999 monthly), Growth (1 page, 2 users)No; a 14-day trial that starts with a demoProduct ops and marketing teams running a formal release processLaunchNotes pricing
Canny$79/mo billed yearly, ProYes: 25 tracked users; the changelog itself is free, email notifications need ProTeams already collecting feedback in Canny, or planning toCanny changelog feature page
Featurebase$29/seat/mo billed yearly, GrowthYes, 1 seat, including the public changelog page; in-app widgets and scheduling start on GrowthTeams that want support, feedback and release notes from one vendorFeaturebase changelog feature page
Frill$25/mo billed monthly, Startup (50 active ideas)No; 14-day trial, no credit cardSmall SaaS teams that want voting and announcements in one toolFrill pricing
Looph (ours)$19/mo, or $190/yr billed yearly, StarterYes: 1 public board, public roadmap and changelog, unlimited members, 100 tracked votersTeams that want every voter told when their request shipsChangelog
Every third-party figure was read on the vendor's own pages on the date given in its section (28 October 2026 unless stated otherwise); each section below links the page it came from. Prices change, so check the live page before you buy.

1. Beamer: in-app announcements priced by monthly active users

Beamer suits teams whose main goal is to get announcements seen inside the product. Its changelog lives in an in-app feed and a standalone page, and boosted notifications (pop-ups, top bars, snippets and tooltips) reach users who never open the feed. Idea voting and a roadmap exist, but as a separate Feedback add-on.

The trade-offs: The bill follows traffic: Beamer counts every unique user who opens a page carrying its script in a month, and exceeding the allowance upgrades you automatically. Email notifications are not on Free or Starter; Pro includes 5,000 a month and Scale 20,000. Linking a release back to the requests behind it needs the Feedback add-on, which the pricing page lists at $99/mo.

Pricing model
Tiers set by monthly active users (MAUs) who load the Beamer script; going over the MAU allowance adds $50/mo per extra 5,000 MAUs automatically
Starting price
$49/mo billed annually ($59 monthly), Starter, 5,000 MAUs
Free plan
Yes: 1,000 MAUs, 1 teammate, with a Beamer watermark
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where Beamer is strong

  • Boosted in-app notifications and post scheduling from the Starter plan.
  • Push notifications, a custom domain and email notifications from Pro, with segmentation on Pro and more advanced segmentation on Scale.

2. AnnounceKit: per-product pricing that adds up

AnnounceKit suits teams that want one piece of the stack rather than a suite. It sells each product separately — changelog, feature requests and roadmap, knowledge base, NPS, in-app notifications — and the prices add up, so a team that only wants announcements pays only for those. Seats are not metered: every product includes three team members and unlimited seats are a flat add-on.

The trade-offs: Traffic is metered even though seats are not: every workspace includes 10,000 monthly active users, then $25 per 5,000. Combining products adds up quickly — changelog plus feature requests is $88/mo billed annually before any add-on — and the Enterprise licence, which is the only way to get contracts, SLAs and 100,000 included MAU, starts at $799/mo.

Pricing model
Per product, monthly or annually (annual saves about 20%); never per seat, but a monthly-active-user meter applies above 10,000
Starting price
$49/mo billed annually ($59 monthly), Changelog
Free plan
No; 15-day free trial of everything
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where AnnounceKit is strong

  • You pay for the products you use, not a tier bundle built around the one feature you wanted.
  • No per-seat charge at any size, and qualifying early-stage startups get 50% off any product for 12 months, per the pricing page.

3. Headway: the simplest widget-and-page changelog

Headway suits small teams that want a public changelog page and an in-product widget running in an afternoon, with no budget conversation. The free plan includes the Eyecatcher, a badge animation that draws attention to new updates.

The trade-offs: Headway does less than anything else here. Its homepage does not mention email notifications to subscribers, audience segmentation, feedback collection or voting, so it is not built to tell a customer that the thing they asked for has shipped. Team management and the Slack and Twitter integrations are Pro-only.

Pricing model
Two options: Free, or a single Pro plan at a fixed monthly price
Starting price
$29/month, Pro (the page does not state annual billing)
Free plan
Yes: unlimited changelogs, public page, widget, custom categories
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where Headway is strong

  • A free plan with unlimited changelogs, a public page and a widget.
  • Private changelogs, scheduled publishing, a custom domain and white-labelling on Pro.

4. LaunchNotes: release communication for larger product organisations

LaunchNotes suits companies where release communication is a process with owners, reviewers and several audiences. Its changelog page describes publishing permissions, subscriber segmentation, reusable templates and one publish flowing to the in-app widget, Slack, email and the updates page. Growth also includes a roadmap, feedback management, SSO and an AI drafting tool.

The trade-offs: It is the most expensive starting point on this list, and the Growth plan covers one LaunchNotes page and two users. Multiple pages, a custom user count, SAML, full white-labelling and bringing your own email provider are on the custom-priced Premium plan. The trial begins with a demo rather than self-serve.

Pricing model
Growth is a fixed price, billed annually or monthly; Premium is quoted and billed annually
Starting price
$833/mo billed annually ($999 monthly), Growth (1 page, 2 users)
Free plan
No; a 14-day trial that starts with a demo
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where LaunchNotes is strong

  • Readers can subscribe to updates and follow specific features.
  • Growth includes one custom domain and 5,000 emails a month sent through LaunchNotes.

5. Canny: a free changelog attached to a feedback board

Canny suits teams that want the changelog to be the last step of a feedback system rather than a separate tool. Its changelog page says you announce what shipped from the same place you collected and prioritised the feedback, and anyone subscribed is notified automatically when you publish. Its pricing table ticks the changelog on every tier, Free included.

The trade-offs: Canny's changelog FAQ says email notifications on publish need the Pro plan. The bill is set by tracked users, the people who post, vote or comment, so a successful changelog that brings more customers to the board also raises what you pay. Changelog access controls and custom domains start on Pro.

Pricing model
Tracked-user tiers: anyone who posts, votes or comments counts, and exceeding the allowance moves you up a tier unless a spend limit is set
Starting price
$79/mo billed yearly, Pro
Free plan
Yes: 25 tracked users; the changelog itself is free, email notifications need Pro
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where Canny is strong

  • The changelog is free with no restrictions, according to Canny's changelog page.
  • Markdown, custom labels and an in-product widget.

6. Featurebase: changelog, feedback and helpdesk in one suite

Featurebase suits teams that want their changelog, feedback portal, roadmap and helpdesk under one subscription. Its changelog page lists a public changelog page, in-app popups and widgets, automatic email notifications when you publish, targeting by product, plan, company or language, 70+ languages, and AI drafting from the requests you completed; targeting and AI drafting are on the Professional plan.

The trade-offs: Paid plans are priced per seat, and AI resolutions are billed per use on top, so the bill depends on headcount and on how much the support agent handles. If a changelog is all you need, much of the subscription pays for helpdesk features. The free plan has one seat and includes the public changelog page; in-app widgets, scheduled publishing, a custom domain and analytics start on Growth.

Pricing model
Per seat per month, billed yearly, plus $0.49 per AI resolution
Starting price
$29/seat/mo billed yearly, Growth
Free plan
Yes, 1 seat, including the public changelog page; in-app widgets and scheduling start on Growth
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where Featurebase is strong

  • Automatic email notifications on publish, with view analytics from Growth.
  • Everyone who asked for a request can get a status email when you mark it completed.

7. Frill: ideas, roadmap and announcements at a flat price

Frill suits small SaaS teams that want idea voting, a roadmap and a changelog in one simple tool without per-person pricing. Its pricing table ticks the announcements features on every tier: scheduled and boosted announcements, segmentation, multi-language posts, announcement comments and an embeddable widget.

The trade-offs: The Startup plan caps active ideas at 50. Private boards are a Privacy add-on until the $149/mo Growth plan, and sending emails from your own domain is part of the White Labeling add-on. There is no free plan.

Pricing model
Flat monthly tiers with unlimited admins and tracked users; yearly billing is offered
Starting price
$25/mo billed monthly, Startup (50 active ideas)
Free plan
No; 14-day trial, no credit card
Figures read
28 October 2026

Where Frill is strong

  • Unlimited admins and unlimited tracked users on every tier.
  • Announcements with segmentation and a widget from the entry plan.

8. Looph (our product): a changelog that notifies every voter

Disclosure: Looph is ours, so treat this section as a vendor describing its own product. Looph is a feedback tool with boards, voting, a public roadmap and a changelog. When you publish an entry, you attach the feedback posts it resolves. Publishing can mark each of those posts Complete (a status you can rename Shipped) and tell every follower, by email, in the app and by push, that what they asked for has shipped.

The trade-offs: Looph distributes entries through its public page, an RSS feed, an embeddable read-only page, Slack and Discord channels, and notifications to the followers of linked posts; an in-product widget and scheduled publishing are coming soon. It does not offer pop-up boosters, it has no AI features yet, and its documentation does not describe audience segmentation for changelog entries. If reach inside your app is the priority, the announcement tools above do more. It is also younger than the other tools here, with fewer integrations.

Pricing model
Per-workspace tiers; members free on every plan, admin seats and tracked voters capped by plan (no caps on Business)
Starting price
$19/mo, or $190/yr billed yearly, Starter
Free plan
Yes: unlimited members, 2 admin seats, 1 public board, 100 tracked voters, public roadmap and changelog, Slack and Discord notifications, Chrome extension, 7-day audit log, community support

Where Looph is strong

  • Publishing an entry notifies the voters and followers of every linked request.
  • The changelog is on every plan, including Free; a custom domain and removing Looph branding start on Growth.

How to choose a changelog tool

Start with the job. If customers never notice what you ship, you need reach: widgets, pop-ups, push and segmentation, where Beamer, AnnounceKit and LaunchNotes put their effort. If nobody tells requesters when their idea ships, you need the changelog connected to your feedback: Canny, Featurebase, Frill or Looph.

Then check how the price moves. Beamer grows with monthly active users, Canny with tracked users and Featurebase with team seats. Frill and Headway charge flat tiers, and AnnounceKit charges per product, with a monthly-active-user meter above 10,000. Looph's tiers step up with admin seats and tracked voters, with members free on every plan, and LaunchNotes quotes anything above Growth.

Finally, check what sits on the plan you would buy. Email notifications are the feature most often held back: Canny needs Pro for them and Beamer needs Pro, while LaunchNotes and Frill list them on their entry paid plans, and AnnounceKit sells them as an Email add-on at $39/mo billed annually. Featurebase lists emails from Growth, with 5,000 a month free and usage-based pricing after that. Private changelogs, custom domains and removing branding are also commonly on higher tiers.

How we chose these tools

Four are changelog-first tools: Beamer, AnnounceKit, Headway and LaunchNotes. The other four are feedback tools with a built-in changelog: Canny, Featurebase, Frill and Looph, which is ours. Nolt also runs a changelog, with an in-app widget and email announcements (its changelog page, read on 28 October 2026), but its pricing page does not say which plans include it, so it is not scored here. The list is not exhaustive.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between a changelog and release notes?

The terms overlap and most tools handle both. Release notes usually describe a release for a general audience, while a changelog is the running, dated record of every change. For a SaaS product, the useful version is a public changelog written in plain language, where each entry says what changed and who it helps.

Is there a free changelog tool?

Yes. On their pricing pages, Headway and Beamer offer free plans, Beamer's capped at 1,000 monthly active users, and Canny's changelog page says its changelog is free, though email notifications need its Pro plan. Looph's Free plan includes the changelog and voter notifications. AnnounceKit, LaunchNotes and Frill offer trials instead of free plans.

Do I need a separate changelog tool if I already use a feedback tool?

Often not. Canny, Featurebase, Frill and Looph include a changelog, and using it means each entry can be linked to the requests it resolves so the people who asked are told. A separate announcement tool makes sense when in-app reach, push notifications or detailed targeting matter more than that link.

How often should a SaaS team publish changelog entries?

On a predictable rhythm, such as weekly or every two weeks, with one entry per change a customer would notice. A steady cadence teaches customers to read it.

Keep reading

  • Changelog Best Practices for Retention

    Changelog best practices: write outcomes, not tickets, label each entry, publish on a steady rhythm and tell the customers who asked when their request ships.7 min read
  • How to Close the Customer Feedback Loop

    A four-stage process for closing the customer feedback loop, from intake and triage to decisions and announcements, with templates for status messages.9 min read
  • 8 Best Public Roadmap Tools in 2026

    Public roadmap tools compared: starting price, free options, voting and who each suits, from Canny and Featurebase to GitHub Projects, with sources.7 min read

Start collecting feedback in five minutes

Free forever on one board, with unlimited members and a 14-day Business trial. No credit card, no sales call.

Unlimited members · Published prices · Cancel anytime